Bears, a Naked Chick, and Some Yeti-like Creature

Posted: October 4, 2010 in Art, Internet, lol, Nerdiness, Reading Material

I don’t know if any of you like web comics as much as I do, or if you’re even aware, but they exist and some of them are particularly good.

Web comics are tricky things. Anyone can do them (which can be a positive or a negative), but they require a lot of self-motivation, both in the artistic sense and also in advertising. I thought about doing one, but it hasn’t happened… for example. Haha, anyway, there are a few out there that are just beautiful and clever, and so I am sharing!

Bear Nuts is a comedy, pretty much. It centers around several brightly colored bears living in a zoo. The way they’re drawn makes them seem a lot like Care Bears–especially since each has a symbol on their stomachs–but really… no. They aren’t. The humor is dark and cynical, which is exactly my kind of humor. Kinder souls will probably think this strip is mean. My favorite bear is Tanked (the drunk one)! His expressions always make me smile, but I’m not going to tell you the names of all the others… you’ll have to find out for yourself. It’s more fun that way.

The Meek is a fantasy with a lovely plot line and vivid colors. The whole comic is brilliantly thought out, the world that they live in is tediously detailed. It has three main characters–Angora, Luca, and Soli–who are all very different but I imagine they will intertwine eventually. Angora is the central character. She’s an isolated teenaged girl who grew up in the jungle with her ‘grandfather’. Right before he passes away he tells her to go into civilization on a quest to save the world. Luca is the stressed out middle-aged king of the Northern Territories, trying to cope with a inevitable war and keep his family in tact. He is actually VEERRRRRRYYYYYYY interesting. Last is Soli: she’s trying to kill her ex-boyfriend. Why, I’m not too sure yet. But her side-kick is a twelve-year-old boy whom Soli looks to for knowledge, however, neither of them are very good at spelling. She promises to be pretty bad ass and I’m really looking forward to learning more about her. She’s mysterious at this point.

Also: Dagre. Enough said.

The Abominable Charles Christopher is the last comic I’m pimping today. It centers around Charles Christopher, a yeti who lives in a woodland full of witty animals. The artist of this comic is Karl Kerschl, a professional illustrator. Of the three comics linked here, his has the most limited color palette. He works in black and blue-gray tones for the most part. Usually I dislike such blunt colors and shading in comics (I can’t stand a lot of graphic novels because of it), but his is pretty. I think it’s the midtones. It is gorgeous! Elegant! This webcomic has been nominated for an Eisner. Anyway, Charles Christopher is a sweet and mute yeti-esque creature who seems to have the mind of a child (he also has a pacifier!). He lives in the forest with other animals, all of whom are slightly confused and intrigued by him. To my knowledge, he’s the only one of his kind there and he might be a baby, but we don’t know for sure (yet). The vague mystical forces at play have chosen him to do something great, but Charles Christopher doesn’t dwell on and/or notice it, because he keeps moving along.

To be honest, if you pick just one of these comics to take a peek at, please make it Charles Christopher. It’s so stunning.

Comments
  1. Sarah J. says:

    I LOVE the Bear Nuts one, and the Charles Christopher one seems pretty cool too (I only read the first 3).

    I had no idea that comics like this were out there on the internet. I’m an avid reader of Cyanide and Happiness, which is some of the funniest stuff I’ve ever seen, but there is really no plot to it so it’s pretty commitment-free. I could definitely see where these types of comics could get addicting. In fact, I’ll probably end up spending a good amount of my night reading Bear Nuts. haha

Leave a Reply

